Château Cream Hill Estates - The Pure Oats Company
Follow us on Twitter Connect with us on Facebook
Certified Gluten-Free

This certification is applicable to our US products only. For more information see GFCO website.

Guaranteed Pure Oat Products
Français Home
About UsOrder ProductsWholesaleOats & Celiac DiseaseResourcesContact Us

Oats and Celiac Disease

Researchers have been studying the safety of oats for people with celiac disease for over 20 years.

We now know that the majority of people with CD can safely eat oats – if the oats are uncontaminated with wheat, barley, rye, triticale, kamut, spelt and other grains that are closely related to wheat.

Pure, uncontaminated oats are a new agricultural product. Cream Hill Estates is proud to be the premier producer of pure oats.

Check out our FAQ, featuring common questions about celiac disease, as well as an overview of oats-related food-labelling regulations in Canada and the U.S.

Health Canada and the Safety of Oats

See: Health Canada's Position on the Introduction of Oats to the Diets of Individuals Diagnosed with Celiac Disease (CD). July 2007.

The Canadian Celiac Association's Position on Oats

"...Clinical evidence confirms that consumption of pure, uncontaminated oats is safe in the amount of 50 to 70 grams per day (1/2 - 3/4 cup dry rolled oats) by adults and 20 to 25 grams per day (1/4 cup dry rolled oats) by children with celiac disease. Studies looking at the consumption of oats over five years have confirmed their safety.... A small number of individuals with celiac disease may not tolerate even pure, uncontaminated oats. To ensure that persons with celiac disease are not intolerant to pure and uncontaminated oats, proper clinical follow up with the physician is advised when introducing oats to a gluten-free diet."

View the full statement here.

The Gluten Intolerance Group's Position on Oats in the Gluten-free Diet

"Research suggests that pure, uncontaminated oats in moderation (1 cup cooked) daily are safe for most persons with celiac disease. There is concern by health professionals that most oats are cross-contaminated with glutenous grains."

View the full statement here.

From The American Dietetic Association's Nutrition Care Manual

"Findings from recent research strongly suggest that persons with celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis may safely consume moderate amounts of uncontaminated oats. However, concerns remain that even if the oat prolamin avenin is not harmful, oats nonetheless may be contaminated with wheat, barley, or rye. Because oats are frequently grown in rotation with wheat and other grains, they may be contaminated with foreign grain when they arrive at the mill. No brand of oats currently available in the United States is guaranteed by the manufacturer to be gluten-free."

Visit the American Dietetic Association site (access to some parts of the site are limited to members)

  Bookmark and Share