Château Cream Hill Estates - The Pure Oats Company
Follow us on Twitter Connect with us on Facebook
Guaranteed Pure Oat Products
Français Home
About UsOrder ProductsWholesaleOats & Celiac DiseaseResourcesContact Us

Canadian Distributors

Stores that sell products for people with celiac disease and wheat sensitivities will be interested in our pure, uncontaminated oat products. Read about Our Purity Guarantee. Each box contains recipes for the consumer. In Canada we may not label our pure oat products as gluten-free, but we may indicate that they are free of wheat, barley and rye. See our Oats and Food Labels section. If you would like an education package for a potential new store, please check the appropriate box on the order form.

Canadian Manufacturers

Our pure uncontaminated oat products can be used in manufacturing products for the Canadian celiac and wheat sensitive population, but the manufactured products cannot be labeled as being "gluten-free." However, they may be labeled as "wheat-, barley- and rye-free." Read about Our Purity Guarantee.

Oats and Food Labels in Canada

Canada's current food labelling regulations prohibit use of the term "gluten-free" on a package label of any product containing oats, even if the oats are uncontaminated with other grains. This extends to advertising and marketing of the product.

Another designation – wheat-, barley- and rye-free, also referred to by us as WBR-free – is acceptable for oat products with a gluten content that meets or exceeds the current government standard. Cream Hill Estates pure oats products satisfy the WBR-free designation.

Canada's food labelling regulation states:

"A food is not permitted to be labelled, packaged, sold or advertised in a manner likely to create an impression that it is 'gluten-free' unless it does not contain wheat, including spelt and kamut, or oats, barley, rye, triticale or any part thereof." (Reference 9.9.4 Gluten-Free Foods [B.24.018, B.24.019])

The Canadian government is considering a separate guideline for pure uncontaminated oats, since under the existing regulation oats are included in the list of gluten-containing grains, which means that even oats that are pure and uncontaminated can not be labelled gluten-free. See the Canadian Food Inspection Agency's Guide to Food Labelling and Advertising (scroll down to 9.9.4 Gluten-Free Foods).

  Bookmark and Share